top of page

How to sleep better

improved sleep

Will Massage help me sleep better?

An estimated 50 to 70 million Americans experience sleep issues that affect their health. Do you toss and turn in the night? Are you constantly waking and then can’t get back to sleep? About 3 years ago after I had my 3rd child sleep was not in my future. My fight or flight was constantly turned on and it was hard for me to get a good nights sleep. Fast forward to now and I still cant seem to get a good night sleep. Being in the health profession I knew what I needed to do.

A lack of sleep can cause low work performance, obesity, and a lower quality of life i.e depression and anxiety. The Institute of Medicine: Sleep Disorders and Sleep Disfunction conducted a study were they monitored 24 patients 12 males and 12 females, half of the subjects received 30 minute massages twice a week for 5 weeks. The other controlled half watched relaxation tapes for 30 minutes twice a week for for 5 weeks. The massage group compared to the controlled group that watched relaxation video tapes show a decrease in cortisol levels and an increase in dopamine and serotonin.

So what does this all mean? Well if you want to sleep better have a better overall quality of life get a massage. If want to experience less pain, depression, anxiety and improved sleep get a massage, even if it is for only 30 minutes. Needless to say I started taking my own advice and started getting bodywork done. Words can’t express how much it has helped me to improve my quality of sleep.

Are ready for that massage yet? Book your appointment now.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page